My Dear, My Sweet

.

My dear, my sweet,

My kind, that none can beat,

How dare you settle,

When, with ease,

You can find someone better.

.

But hell!

All is well!

For I will be,

Your lover see,

Until death finds the key,

Releasing us both into the sea,

And setting us free.

.

Oh joy this does bring,

To hear my heart sing,

Knowing you’re beside me,

And as happy as can be!

.

No! How can I be selfish?

And keep you from your destiny?

For with no doubt I know is not me,

Foolish man, how can I see?

It may just be?

.

Ah! I am confused,

And not amused,

By my fretting,

Whilst your heart is setting!

Time I mustnt waist,

To catch your heart with haste.

.

Off I am,

To snatch your love,

And to hold it dear,

I know my time is short here,

So my sweet,

Take my hand,

And together, let us face life,

For life doesn’t rhyme,

All the time,

But I know with you,

I don’t care if it does.

Leave a Reply

